The Goose Girl Book Cover

Visual Communication Design 1

I used Photoshop to mock-up the book cover. Unfortunately, the mock-ups didn’t fit my dimensions quite right. I aligned them the best I could and included the flat image to show how how some of he text should actually align. In the future, after COVID has died down, I plan on getting my book cover printed and will wrap it around my copy of The Goose Girl. When that happens, I will likely replace some or all of the mock-ups with product photography instead.

In spring 2018, I was assigned a book cover project for Visual Communication Design 1. We could choose any book we wanted and I chose The Goose Girl by Shannon Hale. The goal of this project was to demonstrate figure-ground relationships in illustration, while capturing the overall mood of the book. The Goose Girl is about a princess who isn’t very good at talking to other people, but can talk to birds, with an affinity toward geese. When her lady-in-waiting betrays her and takes her spot, the princess disguises herself and gets work as the king’s goose girl. She wins back her crown after learning she can talk to the wind.

I deiced the most important elements of the book were the princess with her long, yellow hair, the geese, the mountains where she is betrayed, and the wind. Using Illustrator, I designed each element: the mountains, doubling as a crown, the princess, with her long yellow hair blowing in the wind, and a goose shape in her blowing hair. I then placed the elements into an InDesign document, measured exactly to the dimensions of my copy of The Goose Girl, and laid out the typography.

In spring 2019 and again winter 2020, I revisited the book cover, making changes each time until I had a book cover I’m proud of. When COVID dies down and I am able to get the page printed, I plan on wrapping my copy of the book in the book cover I designed.  

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started